top of page
  • Emily

Astrological Birth Chart + Natural Houses

Hello again, earth angels!

These past few weeks, I have been doing a deep dive into all things astrology. I had my first astrology reading in January 2016 with the lovely Danielle Mercurio. It was truly a beautiful reading. Danielle outlined all of the different aspects of my astrological birth chart. I ravenously took in all of the information but never really gave it a chance to resonate.

Fast forward to a few weeks ago when I was cleaning out my closet, and my notebook with all my notes from my reading with Danielle came spilling out. Total coincidence. Not. Thank you, Universe, for the not so subtle nudge!

So, I fell down the astrology rabbit hole. Again. Oops! Sorry, social life and adult responsibilities.

As I was working my way back through my chart, I re-discovered that I am a Sagittarius sun (duh) a Gemini moon, and an Aries rising. That Venus and my North Node are in Scorpio. I have 4 fire signs, 4 water signs, 3 earth signs, and 1 air sign in my immediate chart.

One of the things that fascinates me most about astrology are the 12 Planetary Houses. As explained by "If the signs of the zodiac show “how” planets express themselves, the houses of the natal chart reveal “where” these energies play out. Each of the twelve houses of a chart rule certain areas of life, types of people and relationships, ideas, and life circumstances".

Oooooh, goody! Below I've included a brief description of each of the planetary houses and how they play out in our everyday life, and which astrological sign they are ruled by.

12 Planetary Houses

First House:

  • Ruled by Aries and Mars

  • identity, self, physical body

Second House:

  • Ruled by Taurus and Venus

  • money, values, work, daily routines

Third House:

  • Ruled by Gemini and Mercury

  • communication, friends, community

Fourth House:

  • Ruled by Cancer and the Moon

  • home, family, roots, emotional foundation

Fifth House:

  • Ruled by Leo and the Sun

  • romance, play, self-expression, creativity

Sixth House:

  • Ruled by Virgo and Mercury

  • health, fitness, acts of service

Seventh House:

  • Ruled by Libra and Venus

  • relationships, partnerships, cooperation

Eighth House:

  • Ruled by Scorpio and Pluto

  • intimacy, sex, bonding, transformation, death and rebirth

Ninth House:

  • Ruled by Sagittarius and Jupiter

  • travel, higher learning, morals, ethics

Tenth House

  • Ruled by Capricorn and Saturn

  • career, goals, fame, success, achievements, public image

Eleventh House

  • Ruled by Aquarius and Uranus

  • groups, friends, social causes society

Twelfth House

  • Ruled by Pisces and Neptune

  • endings, closure, healing, spirituality

So, there you have it, the twelve houses!

If you're interested in learning more, check out Cafe Astrology's free natal birth chart report at: to find out which signs are in which houses for you. Do remember that although the first house is ruled by Aries, your first house may be in Gemini, for example. My first four houses are in the signs they are ruled by! Neat.

If this all seems confusing and overwhelming, I highly recommend having an astrologist help you work your way through your chart.

Thanks for reading,

All my love,


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page